Supplemental Conditions - Canada to Own Intellectual Property Rights in Foreground Information - Copyright

ID: PPTC-SC-003

Date: 2010-03-01

01 Interpretation

  1. In the Contract,

    "Background Information" means all Technical Information that is not Foreground Information and that is proprietary to or the confidential information of the Contractor, its Subcontractors or any other supplier of the Contractor;

    "Firmware" means any computer program stored in integrated circuits, read-only memory or other similar devices;

    "Foreground Information" means any Invention first conceived, developed or reduced to practice as part of the Work under the Contract and all other Technical Information conceived, developed or produced as part of the Work under the Contract;

    "Intellectual Property Right" means any intellectual property right recognized by the law, including any intellectual property right protected through legislation (such as that governing patents, copyright, industrial design, integrated circuit topography, or plant breeders' rights) or arising from protection of information as a trade secret or as confidential information;

    "Invention" means any new and useful art, process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter, or any new and useful improvement in any art, process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter, whether or not patentable;

    "Software" means any computer program whether in source or object code (including Firmware), any computer program documentation recorded in any form or medium, and any computer database, and includes modifications to any of the foregoing;

    "Technical Information" means all information of a scientific, technical or artistic nature relating to the Work, whether oral or recorded in any form or medium and whether or not subject to copyright, including but not limited to any Inventions, designs, methods, processes, techniques, know-how, models, prototypes, patterns, samples, schematics, experimental or test data, reports, drawings, plans, specifications, photographs, collections of information, manuals and any other documents, and Software. Technical Information does not include data concerned with the administration of the Contract by Canada or the Contractor, such as internal financial or management information, unless it is a deliverable under the Contract.

02 Disclosure of Foreground Information

  1. The Contractor shall promptly report and fully disclose to the Minister all Foreground Information that could be Inventions, and shall report and fully disclose to the Minister all other Foreground Information not later than the time of completion of the Work or at such earlier time as the Minister or the Contract may require.

  2. Before and after final payment to the Contractor, the Minister shall have the right to examine all records and supporting data of the Contractor which the Minister reasonably deems pertinent to the identification of Foreground Information.

03 Canada to Own Intellectual Property Rights in Foreground Information

  1. Without affecting any Intellectual Property Rights or interests therein that have come into being prior to the Contract, all Intellectual Property Rights in the Foreground Information shall immediately, as soon as they come into existence, vest in and remain the property of Canada. The Contractor shall have no right in or to any such Intellectual Property Rights in the Foreground Information except any right that may be granted in writing by Canada.

  2. The Contractor shall incorporate the copyright symbol and either of the following copyright notices, as appropriate, into all Foreground Information that is subject to copyright, regardless of the form in or medium upon which it is recorded:

    © HER MAJESTY THE QUEEN IN RIGHT OF CANADA (year)

    or

    © SA MAJESTÉ LA REINE DU CHEF DU CANADA (année)

    1. For greater certainty, the Contractor agrees that where the Work under the Contract involves the preparation of a database or other compilation using information or data supplied by Canada or personal information referred to in paragraph (ii), then the Contractor shall not use or disclose any such information or data or personal information for any purpose other than completing the Work under the Contract. The Contractor shall not dispose of such information or data or personal information except by returning it to Canada. The Contractor shall comply with the General Conditions of the Contract in regard to maintaining the confidentiality of such information, data, or personal information. Unless the Contract otherwise expressly provides, the Contractor shall deliver to Canada all such information, data, or personal information, together with every copy, draft, working paper and note thereof that contains such information, data, or personal information upon completion or termination of the Contract or at such earlier time as the Minister may require.

    2. For greater certainty and without limiting sub-section 03(1), if the Work under the Contract involves the collection of personal information as that term is defined in the Privacy Act (R.S.C., c. P-21), then all Intellectual Property Rights in and title to that personal information shall, immediately upon the collection of it by the Contractor, vest in Canada, and the Contractor shall have no right or interest in it.

  3. The Contractor shall execute such conveyances or other documents relating to the Intellectual Property Rights in the Foreground Information as the minister for whose department or agency the Work is being or was carried out may require, and the Contractor shall, at Canada's expense, afford that minister all reasonable assistance in the preparation of applications and in the prosecution of any applications for registration of any Intellectual Property Right in any jurisdiction, including without limitation the assistance of the inventor in the case of Inventions.

04 License to Intellectual Property Rights in Background Information

  1. Without restricting the scope of any licence to exercise the Intellectual Property Rights in the Background Information that Canada may otherwise hold, the Contractor hereby grants to Canada a non-exclusive, perpetual, irrevocable, world-wide, fully-paid and royalty-free license to exercise such of the Intellectual Property Rights in any Background Information incorporated into the Work or necessary for the performance of the Work as may be required for the following purposes:

    1. for the use, operation, maintenance, repair or overhaul of the Work;

    2. in the manufacturing of spare parts for maintenance, repair or overhaul of any custom part of the Work by Canada if those parts are not reasonably available to enable timely maintenance, repair or overhaul;

    3. for disclosure to any contractor engaged by Canada (or bidder for such a contract) to be used solely for a purpose set out in paragraph (a) or (b), but only if the Contractor is unable or unwilling to carry out the maintenance, repair or overhaul or provide the spare parts on reasonable commercial terms and within reasonable delivery times;

    and the Contractor agrees to make any such Background Information (including, in the case of Software, source code) promptly available to Canada for any such purpose.

  2. Without restricting the scope of any licence to exercise the Intellectual Property Rights in the Background Information that Canada may otherwise hold, the Contractor hereby further grants to Canada a non-exclusive, perpetual, irrevocable, world-wide, fully-paid and royalty-free license to exercise such of the Intellectual Property Rights in the Background Information incorporated into the Work or necessary for the performance of the Work as are necessary in order for Canada to modify, improve or further develop the Foreground Information. Canada's rights under this subsection 2 shall not include the right to reproduce the whole or part of any deliverable under the Contract that does not incorporate Foreground Information, save that Canada may reproduce any drawings, plans, designs, or other Background Information that are subject to copyright or industrial design protection, for purposes of modification, improvement or further development of the Foreground Information by or for Canada. The Contractor agrees to make any such Background Information (including, in the case of Software, source code) promptly available to Canada for any such purpose.

  3. Notwithstanding subsections 1 and 2, the license set out therein shall not apply to any Software that is subject to detailed license conditions that are set out elsewhere in the Contract.

  4. The Contractor acknowledges that, subject to paragraph (c) of subsection 1, Canada may wish to award contracts for any of the purposes contemplated in subsections 1 and 2 and that such contract awards may follow a competitive process. The Contractor agrees that Canada's license in relation to the Intellectual Property Rights in Background Information includes the right to disclose the Background Information to bidders for such contracts, and to sub-license or otherwise authorize the use of that information by any contractor engaged by Canada solely for the purpose of carrying out such a contract. Canada shall require bidders and the contractor not to use or disclose any Background Information except as may be necessary to bid for or to carry out that contract.

  5. Where the Intellectual Property Rights in any Background Information are owned by a Subcontractor at any tier, the Contractor shall either obtain a license from that Subcontractor that permits compliance with subsections 1 and 2 or arrange for the Subcontractor to convey directly to Canada the same rights by execution of the form provided for that purpose by the Minister, in which case the Contractor shall deliver that form to the Minister, duly completed and executed by the Subcontractor, no later than the time of disclosure to Canada of that Background Information.

05 Right to License

The Contractor represents and warrants that the Contractor has, or the Contractor undertakes to obtain, the right to grant to Canada the license to exercise the Intellectual Property Rights in the Background Information as required by the Contract.

06 Access to Information; Exception to Contractor Rights

  1. Subject to the Access to Information Act, R.S.C., c. A-1 and to any right of Canada under the Contract, Canada shall not release or disclose outside the Government of Canada any Background Information delivered to Canada under the Contract that is confidential information or a trade secret of the Contractor or a Subcontractor.

  2. Nothing in these terms and conditions shall be construed as limiting Canada's right to exercise the Intellectual Property Rights in any Background Information, or to disclose any Background Information, to the extent that such information:

    1. is or becomes in the public domain, or to the extent that the Contractor does not benefit from or ceases to benefit from any intellectual property rights protection for such information under legislation or at law (other than under the terms of the Contract), for any reason including as a result of Canada's use or disclosure of deliverables under the Contract for any purpose whatever that is not expressly excluded under the Contract;

    2. is or becomes known to Canada from a source other than the Contractor, except from any source that is known to Canada to be under an obligation to the Contractor not to disclose the information;

    3. is independently developed by or for Canada; or

    4. is disclosed under compulsion of a legislative requirement or any order of a court or other tribunal having jurisdiction.

07 Waiver of Moral Rights

  1. The Contractor shall provide to Canada, at the completion of the Work or at such other time as the Minister may require, a written permanent waiver of moral rights (as that term is defined in the Copyright Act, R.S.C., c. C-42), in a form acceptable to the Minister, from every author that contributed to any Foreground Information which is subject to copyright protection and which is deliverable to Canada under the terms of the Contract.

  2. If the Contractor is an author of the Foreground Information referred to in subsection 1, the Contractor hereby permanently waives the Contractor's moral rights in that Foreground Information.

Conditions supplémentaires - Le Canada détient les droits de propriété intellectuelle sur les renseignements originaux – droit d’auteur

ID : PPTC-SC-003

Date : 2010-03-01

01 Interprétation

  1. Dans le contrat,

    « renseignements de base » : Les renseignements techniques autres que les renseignements originaux, qui sont la propriété de l'entrepreneur, de ses sous-traitants ou de tout autre fournisseur de l'entrepreneur, ou qui sont des renseignements brevetés ou confidentiels pour eux;

    « microprogramme » : Tout programme informatique entreposé dans des circuits intégrés, la mémoire fixe et tout autre moyen semblable;

    « renseignements originaux » : Les inventions conçues, développées ou mises en application pour la première fois dans le cadre des travaux effectués aux termes du contrat, de même que tous les renseignements techniques conçus, élaborés ou produits dans le cadre des travaux effectués en vertu du contrat;

    « droit de propriété intellectuelle » : Tout droit de propriété intellectuelle reconnu par la loi et par les règles de droit, notamment tout droit de propriété intellectuelle protégé par la loi (par exemple, les lois qui régissent les brevets, les droits d'auteur, les dessins industriels, les topographies de circuits intégrés ou la protection des obtentions végétales) ou découlant d'une protection de l'information en tant que secret industriel ou renseignement confidentiel;

    « invention » : Toute réalisation, tout procédé, toute machine, fabrication ou composition de matières, ainsi que tout perfectionnement de l'un d'eux, présentant le caractère de la nouveauté et de l'utilité, brevetable ou non;

    « logiciel » : Tout programme informatique, en code source ou en code objet (incluant les microprogrammes), toute documentation des programmes informatiques enregistrée sous quelque forme ou sur quelque support que ce soit, et toute base de données informatisées, et comprend les modifications apportées à tous ces éléments;

    « Renseignements techniques » signifie l'information de nature technique, scientifique ou artistique relative aux travaux, présentée oralement ou consignée sous une forme ou une autre ou par quelque moyen que ce soit, protégée ou non par des droits d'auteur, y compris mais sans s'y restreindre les inventions, les concepts, les méthodes, les procédés, les techniques, le savoir-faire, les modèles, les prototypes, les maquettes, les échantillons, les schémas, les données provenant d'expériences ou d'essais, les rapports, les dessins, les plans, les spécifications, les photographies, les données colligées, les manuels et autres documents et les logiciels. Les renseignements techniques ne comprennent pas les données qui concernent l'administration du contrat par le Canada ou par l'entrepreneur, par exemple l'information financière interne ou l'information de gestion interne, à moins qu'elle ne constitue un bien livrable en vertu du contrat.

02 Divulgation de renseignements originaux

  1. L'entrepreneur signale promptement et divulgue pleinement au ministre les renseignements originaux susceptibles de constituer des inventions, en outre, il lui signale et divulgue pleinement tous les autres renseignements originaux, au plus tard à la date de la fin des travaux ou plus tôt conformément aux exigences du ministre ou du contrat.

  2. Avant et après le paiement final à l'entrepreneur, le ministre peut examiner tous les dossiers de l'entrepreneur et les données à l'appui que le ministre juge raisonnablement pertinents pour permettre l'identification des renseignements originaux.

03 Le Canada détient les droits de propriété intellectuelle sur les renseignements originaux

  1. Sans préjudice des droits de propriété intellectuelle ou des intérêts dans de tels droits, qui sont nés avant le contrat, tous les droits de propriété intellectuelle sur les renseignements originaux seront, dès leur naissance, dévolus au Canada et lui appartiendront. L'entrepreneur n'aura aucun droit à de tels droits de propriété intellectuelle sur les renseignements originaux, sauf tout droit qui pourra lui être conféré par écrit par le Canada.

  2. L'entrepreneur intégrera dans tout renseignement original qui fait l'objet d'un droit d'auteur, quelle que soit la forme dans lequel il est consigné ou le support sur lequel il est consigné, l'un ou l'autre du symbole de droit d'auteur et de l'avis de droit d'auteur suivant :

    © SA MAJESTÉ LA REINE DU CHEF DU CANADA (année)

    ou

    © HER MAJESTY THE QUEEN IN RIGHT OF CANADA (year)

    1. Il est entendu que si les travaux visés par le contrat comportent l'élaboration d'une base de données ou autre compilation de renseignements utilisent de l'information ou des données fournies par le Canada ou des renseignements personnels mentionnés à l'alinéa (ii), alors l'entrepreneur convient de n'utiliser ou de ne divulguer ces informations, données ou renseignements personnels que pour l'achèvement des travaux visés par le contrat, et convient de ne procéder à aucun retrait de ces informations, données ou renseignements personnels, à l'exception de leur remise au Canada. L'entrepreneur convient de n'utiliser ou de ne divulguer ces informations, données ou renseignements personnels sauf pour les remettre au Canada. L'entrepreneur doit se conformer aux conditions générales du contrat en ce qui concerne l'obligation de garder secret ces informations, données ou renseignements personnels. Dès l'achèvement ou la résiliation du contrat ou dès que le ministre l'exige, l'entrepreneur doit remettre au Canada, à moins de stipulation contraire expresse dans le contrat, ces informations, données ou renseignements personnels ainsi que toute copie, ébauche, document de travail et note qui contiennent ces informations, données ou renseignements personnels.

    2. Sans restreindre la portée du paragraphe 03(i), il est entendu que si les travaux visés par le contrat comportent la collecte de renseignements personnels au sens de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels (L.R.C., ch. P-21), alors tous les droits de propriété intellectuelle sur ces renseignements personnels et le droit de propriété sur ces renseignements personnels sont, dès la collecte de ceux-ci par l'entrepreneur, dévolus au Canada, et l'entrepreneur n'a aucun droit ou intérêt sur ceux-ci.

  3. L'entrepreneur signe les actes de cession ou les autres documents se rapportant aux droits de propriété intellectuelle sur les renseignements originaux que le ministre responsable du ministère ou organisme pour lequel les travaux sont exécutés ou ont été exécutés pourra exiger; l'entrepreneur fournit à ce ministre, aux frais du Canada, toute l'aide raisonnable dans la préparation et l'acheminement de toute demande d'enregistrement de droits de propriété intellectuelle, dans toute juridiction, y compris l'aide de l'inventeur s'il s'agit d'inventions.

04 Licence concernant les droits de propriété intellectuelle sur les renseignements de base

  1. Sans restreindre la portée de toute licence que le Canada pourrait autrement détenir lui permettant d'exercer des droits de propriété intellectuelle sur les renseignements de base, l'entrepreneur accorde par les présentes au Canada une licence non exclusive, perpétuelle, irrévocable, mondiale, entièrement payée et libre de redevances, qui autorise le Canada à exercer, parmi les droits de propriété intellectuelle sur tout renseignement de base intégré dans les travaux ou nécessaire pour l'exécution des travaux, ceux qui peuvent être requis pour les fins suivantes :

    1. l'utilisation, le fonctionnement, l'entretien, la réparation ou la réfection des travaux;

    2. la fabrication de pièces de rechange destinées à l'entretien, à la réparation ou à la réfection, par le Canada, de toute partie des travaux fabriquée sur mesure, si ces pièces ne peuvent être raisonnablement obtenues pour permettre l'entretien, la réparation ou la réfection en temps opportun;

    3. la divulgation de l'information à tout autre entrepreneur engagé par le Canada (ou à toute personne qui soumissionne un tel contrat) en vue de son utilisation uniquement pour une fin énoncée aux alinéas a) ou b), mais seulement si l'entrepreneur ne peut pas ou ne veut pas se charger de l'entretien, de la réparation ou de la réfection ou fournir les pièces de rechange aux conditions commerciales raisonnables et à l'intérieur de délais de livraison raisonnables;

    L'entrepreneur s'engage à mettre promptement à la disposition du Canada, pour l'une quelconque de ces fins, tout renseignement de base de cette nature (y compris, dans le cas de logiciels, le code source).

  2. Sans restreindre la portée de toute licence que le Canada pourrait autrement détenir lui permettant d'exercer des droits de propriété intellectuelle sur les renseignements de base, l'entrepreneur accorde aussi par les présentes au Canada une licence non exclusive, perpétuelle, irrévocable, mondiale, entièrement payée et libre de redevances, qui autorise le Canada à exercer, parmi les droits de propriété intellectuelle sur les renseignements de base intégrés dans les travaux ou nécessaires pour l'exécution des travaux, ceux qui sont nécessaires pour que le Canada puisse modifier, améliorer ou développer davantage les renseignements originaux. Les droits du Canada selon le présent sous-paragraphe 2 ne comprennent pas le droit de reproduire, en totalité ou en partie, un bien livrable aux termes du contrat qui n'englobe pas un renseignement original, sauf que le Canada peut reproduire une épure, un plan, un dessin ou autre renseignement de base qui fait l'objet d'une protection par droit d'auteur ou comme dessin industriel, à des fins de modification, d'amélioration ou de développement ultérieur des renseignements originaux par ou pour le Canada. L'entrepreneur s'engage à mettre promptement à la disposition du Canada, pour l'une quelconque de ces fins, tout renseignement de base de cette nature (y compris, dans le cas de logiciels, le code source).

  3. Nonobstant les paragraphes 1 et 2, la licence mentionnée dans ces paragraphes ne s'appliquera pas à un logiciel faisant l'objet de conditions de licence détaillées qui sont énoncées ailleurs dans le contrat.

  4. L'entrepreneur reconnaît que, sous réserve de l'alinéa c) du paragraphe 1, le Canada peut vouloir attribuer des contrats pour l'une quelconque des fins prévues par les paragraphes 1 et 2 et que telles attributions pourraient résulter d'un processus compétitif. L'entrepreneur convient que la licence du Canada se rapportant aux droits de propriété intellectuelle sur les renseignements de base comprend le droit de divulguer les renseignements de base aux soumissionnaires intéressés par tels contrats et le droit d'autoriser, par sous-licence ou autrement, tout entrepreneur engagé par le Canada à utiliser ces renseignements, uniquement pour permettre l'exécution du contrat. Le Canada exigera du soumissionnaire ou de l'entrepreneur de n'utiliser ou ne divulguer aucun renseignement original, sauf dans la mesure nécessaire pour soumissionner ou exécuter le contrat.

  5. Lorsque les droits de propriété intellectuelle sur les renseignements de base appartiennent à un sous-traitant de quelque échelon que ce soit, l'entrepreneur soit obtiendra de ce sous-traitant une licence permettant la conformité avec les paragraphes 1 et 2, soit demandera au sous-traitant d'accorder directement au Canada les mêmes droits, en signant la formule fournie à cette fin par le Ministre, auquel cas l'entrepreneur remettra cette formule au Ministre, dûment remplie et signée par le sous-traitant, au plus tard à la date de la divulgation au Canada de ces renseignements de base.

05 Droit d'accorder une licence

L'entrepreneur déclare et garantit qu'il a le droit d'accorder au Canada la licence qui autorise le Canada à exercer les droits de propriété intellectuelle sur les renseignements de base, ou s'engage à obtenir ce droit, selon ce que requiert le contrat.

06 Accès à l'information; exception aux droits de l'entrepreneur

  1. Sous réserve de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information, L.R.C., ch. A-1, et sous réserve des droits du Canada selon le contrat, le Canada ne pourra pas communiquer ou divulguer en dehors du Gouvernement du Canada un renseignement de base livré au Canada en vertu du contrat et qui constitue une information confidentielle ou un secret industriel de l'entrepreneur ou d'un sous-traitant.

  2. Les présentes modalités n'ont pas pour effet de limiter le droit du Canada d'exercer les droits de propriété intellectuelle sur des renseignements de base, ou de divulguer des renseignements de base, dans la mesure où ces renseignements :

    1. font partie ou viennent à faire partie du domaine public, ou dans la mesure où l'entrepreneur ne bénéficie pas ou cesse de bénéficier d'une protection conférée à cette information par des droits de propriété intellectuelle, en vertu des dispositions législatives ou des règles de droit (mais autrement qu'en vertu des modalités du contrat), pour toute raison, notamment parce que le Canada a utilisé ou divulgué des biens livrables selon le contrat à une fin quelconque qui n'est pas expressément exclue par le contrat;

    2. est ou devient connue du Canada d'une source autre que l'entrepreneur, sauf d'une source dont le Canada sait qu'elle est tenue envers l'entrepreneur de ne pas divulguer l'information;

    3. est développée indépendamment par ou pour le Canada;

    4. est divulguée en raison d'une exigence législative ou d'une ordonnance rendue par une cour de justice ou un autre tribunal compétent.

07 Renonciation aux droits moraux

  1. L'entrepreneur fournira au Canada, soit à l'achèvement des travaux soit à telle autre date que pourra indiquer le Ministre, une renonciation écrite permanente aux droits moraux (expression définie dans la Loi sur le droit d'auteur, L.R.C., ch. C-42), dans une forme acceptable pour le Ministre, de la part de chaque auteur qui contribue aux renseignements originaux qui font l'objet d'une protection par droit d'auteur et qui doivent être livrés au Canada en vertu des modalités du contrat.

  2. Si l'entrepreneur est un auteur des renseignements originaux dont il est question au sous-paragraphe 1, il renonce par les présentes en permanence à ses droits moraux sur ces renseignements originaux.